: Still getting Missfire-New AC Delco Plugs and new coil packs

soccer_eldorado
06-15-11, 01:58 PM
My 02 Deville was getting a steady stumble and Check Engine Light flashing, checked the codes, the only one that didn't deal with the Torque Converter Clutch Solenoid was the PCM 0300 code (engine missfire). I changed the spark plugs (used new AC Delcos) and new coil pack cassettes with the new ignition modules included. On the rear side, I did see a little oil residue. Do you guys think it could be the boots needing replacing also? One other thing, the stumble/missfire started very distinctly about 3 weeks ago. I'm a teacher and out for the summer, so I don't have to drive the car very much, but what do you guys think. Would driving it very much ruin the Catalytic converter?

postman2000
06-15-11, 05:38 PM
There are a lot of possible causes, but I would suspect a Fuel Injector, Fuel Regulator or Fuel Pump as the most likely suspect..

Ranger
06-15-11, 11:18 PM
Do you guys think it could be the boots needing replacing also?
Only if they where carbon tracked. IF they where, the track would soon transfer to the new plug and misfire. Whenever carbon tracking is involved, you must replace both the plug and boot (or wire). Otherwise it will just keep transferring back and forth.

amunderdog
06-16-11, 12:00 AM
May help:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyvdWeyDHf4

NHRATA01
06-16-11, 11:28 AM
How did the plugs you yanked look? Any dirtier or more fouled than the others?

soccer_eldorado
06-16-11, 11:52 AM