: 1st Time @ 1/4 Mile track tonight. Tips?

njdevilz1
05-13-11, 03:47 PM
Tonight will be my first time taking the V to the 1/4 mile track tonight.
My previous vehicle was a Jeep srt8 so more or less I have no experience with a RWD car at the track. I would just stage and mash the pedal when light turned green lol AWD ftw.

My car is auto / stock tires/ no mods yet.

From what I have been able to find so far is :
1.Put trans in sport mode auto.
2.Leave at idle
3.Touring suspension mode

What I would like to know is what level of TC should I use?
I think for the first run i will leave TC on and get used to rolling into the throttle?

Or perhaps TC one level off , roll into throttle , try to time it so pedal is mashed just before 1-2 shift or ease into throttle until on verge of loosing traction , mash it once it feels like it is hooking?
How would TC completely off work? Is it harder to roll or ease into it without losing traction? Is there alot of benefit of TC completely off vs. one level off? I can totally picture myself blipping on and off the gas all the way down the track , spinning down the track for a 15+ second time with TC in competitive mode lol.

Now here are some embarrassing questions:
1. Wetbox - do you sit in the wetbox with brakes on slightly and smoke the sh!t out of the tires ? Or do you drive around the wetbox and slightly do a quick little burnout? Or stage a little after the water crap and do small burn out? I just do not want to look like a tard but at the same time would like to do what is needed to warm the tires up as I know I will have traction issues with the stock tires and my driving ability.

2.What is a shallow / deep stage? I am guessing a shallow one is when you pull up to the line until the first top yellow light comes on? Or do you have to pull up far enough until both yellow top lights come on before you are good to go?

(sorry for the newb questions , as you can tall I have very limited track exp.)

jamesdean65
05-13-11, 03:52 PM