Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Noticeable drop in power in warm weather

1K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  Ranger 
#1 ·
My 98 Deville lives up here in Wisconsin so it is just starting to get warm here(it's like 84 degrees today) and I've noticed that my engine is more sluggish than in cold weather. In 45~50 degree weather I can chirp my tires at every stop but now when I stomp on the gas it feels like the engine isn't running in all 8 cylinders until about 3000~3500 rpm. Any ideas? My spark plugs are AC Delco about 8 months old, the wires are about 2 years old, no codes besides the "check gas cap P0440" message so I think I need a new gas cap. The car is approaching 180k miles so am I just asking too much for an old car? A long time ago I was told that my fuel injectors are seeping gas but I've been driving it as-is for a few years now, but the drop off in power during warm weather is new this time.

#2 ·
P0440 refers to an EVAP system fault - most often evidenced by a loose gas cap, BUT it can be anything from a faulty EVAP solenoid/vacuum line at the rear fuel rail area to the charcoal canister under the driver's side rear door frame area to the fuel tank vent system to the canister. Any vacuum leak in that system will cause sluggish operation and maybe set mixture (lean) code(s).

ANY fuel injector leakage or faulty operation is performance-robbing as well as dangerous.

#3 ·