: P0717/p056 transmission input speed sensor fix!!

dto
05-06-11, 04:39 PM
I'm an automotive service technician and I own a 1995 Cadillac STS. I too, had the P056 code come up. I could replace the sensor myself, but i really don't want to spend 10+ hours trying to replace the sensor.

After browsing the forums, I stumbled upon this thread, where someone had made a small signal amplifier.

I decided to build the exact same device. (photo attached)

When the vehicle was cold, the sensor worked fine. Go in to diagnostics and view PD72. When the vehicle temperature rose, the data disappeared and a DTC would appear.

I connected the signal amplifier and now it works great. Data is present, when the vehicle is cold and when warm. A big thanks to 'magnum51' where ever he may be.

dto
05-13-11, 03:37 AM
Materials Needed:

1 x LM741 Operation Amplifier
2 x 4 AA battery holders
1 x 1k ohm resistor
1 x 100k ohm resistor
1 x printed circuit board

miscellaneous materials:

- wire
- connectors
- soldering iron and solder

The items mentioned literally cost me less then $40 to purchase and i've no past experience with electronics.

I've provided a schematic and several images to aid, if anyone is interested in building one themselves.

Rckjaws10
05-24-11, 01:04 AM
This is very interesting.. I too have the P0717 in my 96 Deville.. Do you have anymore detailed information on how to build, and hook up this device? thanks a lot

dto
05-24-11, 07:42 PM
Use the diagrams i've provided. Or I could build it for you, for which i will charge.

Extortion00
08-15-11, 04:31 AM
how long did it take you to build this?

Submariner409
08-15-11, 09:29 AM
how long did it take you to build this?

Once you collect the parts from Radio Shack or an online electronics parts house the build should take a half hour. BUT, practice doing small solder joints FIRST.

Chino214
08-21-11, 10:48 PM