: Auto Dimming Lights

bbjorklund99
04-20-11, 12:10 PM
Gentlemen,

I am new to the 06 STS I purchased and am trying to figure out how to use the auto dimming feature. It appears that I have this feature on my car because I have the on/off button and it appears to have several indicators on my mirror as well as the on-star buttons. The manual talks about pushing and holding the on/off button for 3 seconds and some indicator coming on. I am not sure what indicator they are talking about. Are they talking about the light on the on/off button or some indicator on the dash?

I can manually turn the high beams on and off with the turn lever but is sounds like the high beams should come on and go off from the standard position based on lighting conditions. I thought I had followed all the instructions but either missed a step, my car does not have this feature, or I have a malfunction.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Brad

chazglenn3
04-20-11, 05:59 PM
The indicator is the left LED on the mirror. Run your VIN at http://www.compnine.com/vid.php and you will see all the options installed on your car. I think Intellibeam requires HID headlights.

chagrin falls
04-20-11, 06:30 PM
If you have a small "black box" between the windshield and rearview mirror you have intellibeam. Check your owners manual for operation/adjustment. If your car was delivered without the owners manual pick one up on eBay or contact Helms, Inc.

bbjorklund99
04-20-11, 06:50 PM
Thanks guys! It looks like I have the option:

TQ5 CONTROL INTELLIGENT HIGH BEAM INTELLIGENT HIGH BEAM CONTROL(TQ5)

I am guessing this is the code. With the car having basically every option available except AWD, Adaptive CC, and HUD I would have been surprised if it didn't have the intellibeam feature.

I will see if I can figure it out.

Brad

KRSTS
04-20-11, 07:51 PM
My 2008 has the small black box but does not have intellibeam. I believe the box is for the rainsense wipers.

PETE314
04-20-11, 09:22 PM