: Crankshaft Sensors

Nash-tasic
03-05-11, 07:02 PM
I am needing to replace my crankshaft sensors in my 2002 deville. i have never done this before and dont know what im getting into. any suggestions or pointers to make this as easy as possible?

Submariner409
03-05-11, 07:34 PM
Faulty CKP's will signal with a slow speed warmup stall or slowdown stall.

Why do you need to replace the CKP's ?? Faulty DTC's (Diagnostic Trouble Codes) in the car's built-in code system ?? You're looking for P0335/6 and P0385/6 and maybe others.

There are 2 - A & B - new models made by DENSO in Japan. One black, One gray. They're mechanically different, so will only go into the correct hole. 10mm wobble socket, and a lot of patience, car up on a hoist. Remove the lower air deflector and, for more room, the oil filter adapter. The electrical connectors are double locked - no fun to disconnect.

Black = GM #12575482
Gray = GM #12575481

00 Deville
03-05-11, 07:40 PM
The oil filter adapter comes out fairly easily and really opens things up... especially if you have large hands. Does the car have the original CKP's if so what is the mileage?

Nash-tasic
03-05-11, 07:40 PM
thank you. do i need to disconnect the battery while i do this or is it ok? whats the best way to disconnect the the double locks?

Nash-tasic
03-05-11, 07:41 PM
I actually just got the car 2 weeks ago so im not sure? the car has 120,000 miles tho

Submariner409
03-05-11, 07:44 PM
thank you. do i need to disconnect the battery while i do this or is it ok? whats the best way to disconnect the the double locks?

No need to disconnect the battery - the power to the CKP's is ignition ON dependent.

Electrical connectors: patience and small hands. Snap locks.

Again - Why do you need to do this ? Do you have driveability problems ??? If so, it might be something else unless you have narrowed it down by using your diagnostic codes.

Nash-tasic
03-05-11, 07:46 PM