: Direct Buy warranty

prospec636
02-26-11, 12:39 PM
Has anyone ever heard of/or used Direct Buy warranty? Tough to find info online because every warranty company gets bashed. I just picked up a Platinum Elite policy, 4yr, 100,000 miles, 0 deductable, that covers everything except normal wear and tear items/maintenence/cosmetic/exhaust systems for 2769. I am aware of what the BBB says and I take that with a grain of salt. Looking for actual experiences. 2005 CTS-V w/ 50261 miles. Open to recommendations.

D3l7a3ch0
02-26-11, 12:54 PM
worth it in the event of a catastrophic event, but is the likelihood of one worth spending the extra 2-3G's? I think no.

my used car dealership asked me if I wanted one, and this is exact quotes,"no thanks, I used to be a mechanic, and it's a GM--I'm not afraid of it." salesman,"ok, that's cool. if anything comes up just come back and we can backdate a policy for you--just pay in cash."

prospec636
03-17-11, 03:52 PM
So as a followup to this Direct Buy warranty, I decided against it due to much of the negative info on the internet and a gut feeling. As per policy, you get a full refund if canceled within 30 days. So I agreed on the 24th of Feb - cancelled on the 3rd of March - again by policy - filling out the form and faxing it to them, and well within the 30 day timeframe. Here it is, the 17th of March and I still have yet to see my deposit of 275.00. I have followed their procedure and have been told things like it will be there in 2 to 3 days, then I was told that their "gateway" was down and they could not process it. Then i was told another 2-3 days....you see the pattern. Today I was told it was processed on the 14th and that I would see it in 3 to 5 days....These people appear to be scamming and it looks as though my instinct was correct. Do not deal with this "company" - you may come to regret it.

Andringa
03-18-11, 12:31 PM