: What are you thinking your next car will be?

I~LUV~Caddys8792
02-23-11, 09:25 PM
I could have sworn I made a thread just like this not too long ago, but I searched "your next car" in the lounge search box, and nothing came up, so here goes again....

Since I only own one car, I'm gonna be talking about what I replace it with.

I really like the supercharged 3800, and my Regal in general. It's powerful, fast, reliable, fun to drive, fairly luxurious and cheap to own...painlessly cheap to own. The Regal could definitely improve in interior space, interior design and a smooth ride. It's not rough by any means, but I like cars that are quiet and soft..

I'd like to own a Cadillac again, but as a daily driver, I want something newer so it's easy to find parts and service for it, but nothing too new, because I don't want a super high payment and the newer a car is, the more expensive it is to insure and license. Aside from the '08+ CTS, none of the 00+ Cadillacs really do anything for me, aside from the '99-00 Escalade and '00-02 Eldorado Touring Coupe, but those are getting so old now it would be hard to get a loan for them, and a warranty for the Eldorado..

All of the Cadillacs I really like are too big and too old to make good daily drivers.

So that makes my decision pretty simple..

1997-05 Buick Park Avenue Ultra.
-90% the space and luxury of the Deville, at 70% the cost, with a more reliable drivetrain, better fuel economy and aftermarket support/modifiability.
- It's got everything I like about the Regal, on a firmer chassis, with more space, more luxury items and a softer ride.

I almost bought a '99 Park Avenue Ultra instead of the '00 Regal GS, but at that time, I wanted the smaller, sportier car and I really wanted the floor shift and center console. Looking back on it now, I wish I would have gone with the Ultra, but I'm very satisfied with the GS.

No idea on timeline, not for a long time...a few years or so. Just something I like to think/talk about.