: N* performance approach?

caddygirlny
10-01-04, 08:27 PM
Hey people. Im new at this so be easy on me. I just started doing the northstar stuff the day my GF got her 99. which was maybe 3 weeks ago. hehe.
heres the deal. I already bought her a pair of 4.6L cylinder heads, full with rockers , cams etc... beautiful, amazing condition, 150 bucks, i couldnt pass it up. I wanna port them out, leave the cams stock of course, only thing id like to do is get stainless steel valves with that, no guides, no new retainers, everything else original, i dont wanna go overboard with this car with aftermarket. I just wanna clean the ports a little more etc...
next i picked up the intake manifold with the TB at a junkyard with injectors for 75 bucks, so whats im paying is cheap for parts. im loving it. I wanna match port the TB to the mounting plate..

CAN the intake manifold be ported?? i havent looked into it???
my next thing is to look for some stock manifolds to just smooth out the openings on each. And then reinstall them with new gaskets for the hell of it. I think this would add some decent power..again i dont wanna go to nuts with the heads etc... just some little power, thinking a cool 15-20hp would be nice out of the whole package for her.

my question is along with what im doing...if anyone has anything to add would be great also....would this throw any engine codes?? im not too sure how set this cadillac is, i know on my regal, no codes are thrown when i did a bigger Tb, and heads with a mild cam. so im assuming the caddy might be different b.c its more computer controlled?? tell me what u think guys, everything is much appreciated to help me finish this project as fast as i can.
hopefully with what i do, no codes will be set.

thanx guys.

eldorado1
10-01-04, 08:45 PM