: Just got a used CTS-V and have a few questions.....

gshaffer71
02-05-11, 02:24 AM
I just picked up a 2005 CTS-V with 50k on it. I am new to this type of car but pretty sabby when it comes to mechanics. Its cold hear so I have not had a chance to further inspect the car but noticed there are afew things now that are concerning me. after the engine warms up and letting the clutch out in 1st without any accel pedal there seems to be a slight vibration or rattle like sound. Is this normal? My first high HP motor. Shifting out of first when close to redline there is a thump......I just assumed either I'm shifting bad or there is a tremedous amount of torque that this engine puts out and maybe not to do that.
It's only in first.
Aside from that I notice that there is a knock of something loose in the front end when I hit bumps in the road at lower speeds. I am pretty sure its the struts but want an opinion or two.
How hard is i to replace the clutch yourself in this car. I wonder if that rattle or vibe is the throwout bearing.

I know its hard to tell without being in the car, just looking for a few opinions of owner that may have had the same problem.
Who know how hard the previous owners drove this car? But if I was a betting man, I'd bet it wasn't mildly....

ctsvdubbz
02-05-11, 04:05 AM
i have an 05 cts v.. motor mounts are a big thing that go wrong with these.. mine has the same vibration in the front also and i haveant figured that out yet... urethane motor mounts are a must.. thats def my next upgrade... the guys on the forum forsure will help u out but its mostly engine mounts n bushings that need to be upgraded.. its hard to stuff a corvette engine in a four door car and try and get luxury and horse power all at the same time.. without having a few flaws... when u start it up does it vibrate.. n shutting it off too prolly has some vibration??

Mystical_Ice
02-05-11, 01:18 PM
as a 4 year owner of a 2005 CTS-V, i can probably answer some of your questions -