: hey.....im new

C4BigD
01-22-11, 03:19 PM
im new to this forum, actualy new to all forums, so please forgive me if im not doing this right. i am also new to cadillac, or i should say, soon to be new. I am looking at a 2001 STS. it has about 85,000mi and around $7000. I would like to know what kinda things i should look for when buying this car. Also i would like to know common problems, and reliablity factor. i know that there will be some general maintnece at this milage. Also cansitering the devill sadan. Any helpful words on either would be great.

ps. sorry for my bad gramer/spelling

Ranger
01-22-11, 05:07 PM
:welcome:

Where are you from?

blue07cts
01-22-11, 05:56 PM
Welcome!!!!

Submariner409
01-22-11, 07:24 PM
Hi..................

Your best bet is to begin by reading the entire Cadillac Technical Archive up in the black bar ^^^, going down to Discussions, Engines, Northstar Performance: Technical Tips and read as much of that as you can digest, then start wading through Seville threads - many, many, many pages of advice, remedies, diagnosis, fixes and problems.

Know that the 2001 STS sold for about $50,000 and that's where your care and maintenance level of cost will fall - not at $7,000. Not even close.

Enter the car's VIN into the sticky post ^^^ "VIN to RPO converter" to find out what Regular Production Options are in that particular car. It will NOT be a "rare" car - some hidden RPO's will trigger a "1 of XXXXX" figure. Not so. Yes, the car bucked the production line at XXXX time on XXXX day, but that doesn't make it rare.

creeker
01-22-11, 07:28 PM
Welcome, the top of the list is the cooling system, see if the seller has any records of cooling system maintenance,poke around here awhile and you will learn why.

EChas3
01-22-11, 07:49 PM