: Eagle Premier/Dodge Monaco, Good for a Commuter? Thoughts?

HAZZARDJOHN
01-19-11, 03:33 PM
I know you guys have a lot of experience with oddball cars, especially cars that are considered full size (I donít get why a premier is full size as it is no bigger than a Taurus but whatever) so I am looking for your experience.

Ok, here is the deal I have a friend that is selling an 1990 Eagle Premier ES with about 90K miles that he inherited from his Grandfather who passed last year. He barely drives it and doesnít want it. I am looking for a commuter car as I am sick of putting miles on my ram (I am almost to 80K on it and it had 38K when I bout it two and half years ago). So anyway it is a really nice car that has been very well taken care of. I would never look for one of these, but it is there and I am thinking about it.

Here are my concerns. It is weird and French. It has a OHC V6 PRV engine and an automatic gear case. I have no knowledge on the reliability of either of these things. He tells me that this car has never been trouble to anyone in his family. What I like about it is it is comfortable, has four wheel disc breaks, the interior is pretty funky for a car of itís age and it gets 30 MPG. The best part is it is forgettable so I could care less if I destroy it by commuting with it, unlike my Dodge which I love.

Your input is greatly appreciated.

~John

orconn
01-19-11, 04:06 PM
Hazzard John, I would worry about that Renault source V-6. As I remember hearing from my mechanic back in the late 1980s early 1990s that these engines, which were used also in Volvos and Renaults, were prone to problems. To the point that he advised me not to touch anything that had one of joint design Volvo/Renault engines in it. It would probably be a good idea to research both the Volvo and Renault version of this engine to see what problems they had or could have.

HAZZARDJOHN
01-19-11, 04:10 PM