: Looking at a 2006 CTS-V need help with opinion car fax info

conrad1972
01-03-11, 10:23 PM
Guys, I am looking at a 2006 CTS-V, it only has 37000 miles on it. the problem I am having is on the car fax, they state there was an accident with frame damage, although there was no airbag deployment. This would lend me to believe it most likely wasn't a very serious accident. Just looking for some other opinions. Or things I should consider looking at in regards to damage that may have occured.
Thanks
Conrad

V-Guy
01-03-11, 10:27 PM
I am no expert, but I have a hard time believing that any accident that resulted in frame damage wasn't serious. At a minimum, I'd have a very experienced mechanic that I trust put the car on a lift and examine every accessible inch of the frame to determine what the damage was, what the fix was, and what its present condition is.

rand49er
01-04-11, 06:32 AM
An '06 with 37k sure sounds enticing.

Like V-guy, I'm by no means an expert, but I'd think if the sheet metal seems to be right with proper gaps and not loose and the car tracks down the road properly and corners both left and right with little fanfare, it could be a candidate.

Does it have a salvage title?

06BlackonBlackCTSV
01-04-11, 07:22 AM
I totaled my first V. I messed the frame up. I hit a guard rail backwards (coming off an on ramp too fast :banghead:) I know I was dumb, but everybody makes mistakes. My airbags never deployed. The mechanic that did my insurance claim said that he could fix everything on it (even the bent frame), it was just gonna cost about $27k to fix and it was only worth $31k at the time. So insurance company totaled it. So just because the airbags didn't deploy, doesn't mean it was not a serious accident. I am sure if you really like that one, you can take it to a dealership or a shop and they can tell you if there is anything wrong with the frame, not sure though. I would pass on that one, and keep looking for another V. Just my .02.

conrad1972