: New CTS-V Owner

Sigfod
12-18-10, 07:18 PM
Last week I took ownership of a 2 owner 2006 CTS-V. I have been pouring over the fourms and have the basics down. Still looking for some clarification. Most of the information I have found is older info and seems to be out of date.
This car is my daily driver(already have a track car), and I am trying to keep it comfortable. This is my first V8 and first American car so I am very new to the Domestic V8 world.

1. What is the best solution to the wheel hop issue?
2. What is the best option for an ECU tune?
3. What is the best option for a clutch?
4. Are there any meets coming up in the near future for the Washington DC area?
5. What are the general recommendations for the V?
6. Is there a factory wood kit available?

repenttokyo
12-18-10, 07:22 PM
welcome!

best recommendation: get a short shifter from PISNUOFF - dramatically improves shift feel and accuracy, and affordable.

Sigfod
12-18-10, 08:33 PM
welcome!

best recommendation: get a short shifter from PISNUOFF - dramatically improves shift feel and accuracy, and affordable.

Thanks for the reply.

kevm14
12-18-10, 09:44 PM
What's wrong with the clutch? If it doesn't chatter and grabs 2nd hard enough to wheel hop, there IS no clutch problem.

Stepside
12-18-10, 09:44 PM
1. Don't do clutch dumps; if not Gforce1320 axles
2. Don't worry about a tune unless you mod the engine.
3. LS9 clutch
4. Don't know; maybe in Maryland
5. Subjective answers to this question are dependent on your intensions.
6. YES . . . where . . ebay and your local detail/customize shop.
And since you are in VA. See Lindsay Cadillac

Sigfod
12-18-10, 11:31 PM
1. Don't do clutch dumps; if not Gforce1320 axles
2. Don't worry about a tune unless you mod the engine.
3. LS9 clutch
4. Don't know; maybe in Maryland
5. Subjective answers to this question are dependent on your intensions.
6. YES . . . where . . ebay and your local detail/customize shop.
And since you are in VA. See Lindsay Cadillac