: Software upgrades

stevec5375
11-23-10, 06:30 PM
I am a software developer professionally. I have worked at a lot of different companies over the years. The one thing they ALL had in common was whenever a customer complained of issues with a product, we ALWAYS upgraded them to the latest version so that they would get all fixes we had made, thus, alleviating the potential that they would hit another KNOWN problem that we had already resolved.

I have seen that this is not the case with Cadillac with regard to the SRX, at least, since this is the first one I have ever owned. My dealership will not do a complete software update. They want you to cite a known issue before they will update the software and then they only update the offending module and not the entire car.

I would like someone to apply some logic to this approach. Why would they not want to head off any upcoming issues before they happen if they already know about it and have a fix in hand?

I know that it is impossible for them to recall all the vehicles every time they have a new fix available but if the car is in for an oil change or some other maintenance one would think this would be a great time to update the car to the latest version.

I find all of the issues reported on here related to software troubling given that many of them could be avoided if Cadillac would adopted a different strategy regarding software updates. They must have their reasons. Can anyone add any ENLIGHTENED, INTELLIGENT, AND INFORMED ideas to this discussion?

markeetaux
11-28-10, 11:43 PM
How come you worked at so many companies?

Ponyman
11-29-10, 09:04 AM
I could give you an answer.

zinner
12-07-10, 11:41 PM
If it aint broke don't fix it attitude. You can put your vin into calid.gm.com and see what updates there have been, if you have a software program like HP tuners you can see what ECM/BCM code you have.