: Horrble sound quality using phone/bluetooth

stevebaker
11-12-10, 02:22 AM
Newbie here... Own a 2010 SRX luxury AWD. I've had this for almost exactly one year. Fun car, great in the snow etc.... Sure like any car there are a few things that I wish were different but they are minor and not worth complaining about.

However there is one major annoyance I have and that's the sound quality when using my phone. I have tried three phones; Blackberry Curve, Blackberry Storm, Apple iPhone4. With all three the sound quality is horrible. I have to constantly raise and lower the volume to get any sort of constant volume of the talker's voice. I think the sound comes from just the front speaker versus surround sound. The sound is so muffled it sounds like there's a pillow over the speaker. Most of the time I can hardly have a relaxed conversation while driving, which to me is a bit of a danger since I should be concentrated on driving versus fiddling with the volume, straining to hear, etc...

I dabbled with OnStar phone and that sounds beautiful. I came out of a Lexus gs350 and the sound through Blackberry/BlueTooth was a clear as digital music. The OnStar call quality is just like the gs350/BlueTooth. Very very nice.

I looked around in the manual to see if there was maybe an audio control section that I need to adjust. It feels like there is all bass and no midrange or treble. Alas I didn't find anything like that.

Is anyone else having this problem? Am I being unrealistic to expect that with today's technolgoy I should have reasonable sound quality?

I'm about to hit the dealer for the second oil change at 9,000 miles and am thinking about seeing what they can do if anything. I know... I don't put many miles on but I really enjoy driving this car! :)

GMJim
11-12-10, 06:47 AM
Have service look at it. Mine paired with an IPhone3, is very clear.

TheCaptain
11-12-10, 07:25 AM
Yea, mine paired with my old Razr 2 was nice and clear, i haven't tried my new Torch though.