: Newbie here with a couple of questions

Riverdance
10-10-10, 09:52 PM
Hi guys...Just purchased a 2005 Escolade EXT Diamond White with 51,000 miles for 21,000...I love it!!!! I have a couple of questions...i did a search for answers but now i am more confused.....

I want to change all fluids in the truck, oil, front and rear differentials,transmission fluid, and flush engine and replace anti-freeze...I want to start fresh...So what brands have you all used in your ext and how much?

I also want to install a backup camera...Which one is good?

I also want to install automatic start...Please advise which one worked well for u

Thanks for your help and I hope to be a contributer to the board in the future

Gale Hawkins
10-10-10, 11:35 PM
Riverdance you got a truck that should last a long time at a fraction of the cost of a 2011.

See if you can check with the servicing dealer for a history. I did that for our base 2003 purchased last week. One thing I learned for example was 15K miles ago they installed a new water pump and belts. That means I am good on antifreeze for the next 85K miles/4 years. I also learned they replaced the transmission valve body 60K miles ago so this weekend we did the bucket flush as covered in the sticky threads you see when you log in to this forum. I did it as the write up for the most part and it was a low brainer that got the kids involved in learning skills. I did put a can of Sea Foam in the transmission and ran it for 200 miles over the three days prior to the bucket flush.

Wal-Mart, etc will carry most any fluids you may need.

Go to E-Bay and get your four set GM factory shop manuals. It has all of the specs/volumes if not in your owners manual.

Nice truck.

CAD-E!
10-11-10, 03:33 AM
for engine oil i use Mobil1 0-30 (green cap) w/ a Mobil1 oil filter

front and rear diff= Mobil1 75-90

transfer case= i ONLY use the GM auto trak 2 (blue stuff)

sk7
10-11-10, 09:56 AM