: Zonie77

AoD
09-02-10, 09:28 PM
I'm too new to send private messages? That's cool. This is a copy pasta of that PM.

Hi there!

My name's Andy, and I just bought my first Caddy, a 2000 SLS with 111,339 miles and a bad radiator.

The hg's are "good" (the seal hasn't failed just yet). But I still intend to stud the block and replace the gaskets with layered steel. All well in good, right?

The problem is, I have never done it before. I found this thread of yours:
http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums/northstar-performance-technical-discussion/5052-n-head-gasket-repair-part-i.html

Here you give a quick run down and......

link to an article you wrote on the procedure:
http://caddyinfo.netgetgoing.com/howto/nsrepair.htm

Dead link. Now I'm thinking this was probably a pretty good piece of information, I was wondering if it was still around somewhere in the land of existence, and if so, any way you could point me in the right direction, being the author and all?

Thanks in advance
Andy

Ranger
09-02-10, 10:57 PM
Why go through all that work and expense to fix something that ain't broke?

zonie77
09-03-10, 12:18 AM
andy,

I have to agree with Ranger, if they are still good why change them? It is a LOT of work, at least 40 hours the first time. I would definitely change the radiator and see what happens from there. When you chang the radiator you will be replacing most of the coolant.

If I remember right, the article I linked to was someone replacing the short block and they had the new short block inserted. The good thing was some pics of the block and the timeserting. You could see the coolant passages and oil drainbacks and tell how far apart they are. There are other pics on the web that show the deck. There is a video on timeserting also. I think that's on the timsert web site.

AoD
09-03-10, 12:32 AM