: Newbie here...I have a few questions

t600
08-07-10, 03:29 PM
New member here so hello to everyone, I'm researching a 06-07 STS and have a few questions. First off I'm coming from an Infiniti G35 and having had nothing but sports cars in the past I am really getting tired of the constant jittery ride. My question here is does the V8 model and V6 model ride about the same? It's my understanding that the adjustable shocks are only available on the V8 model....do they give a better ride than the base shocks or are they tuned more toward better handling? I'm buying preowned so I'd like to know what to look for before I get to the dealership since ride is one of the most important aspects I'm looking for. Also the CPO warranty is really one of the biggest reasons I'm considering the car. From reading Cadillac's website it seems like its not far from being a bumper to bumper warranty for 100k miles. Of course things like wear items aren't covered but does Cadillac have restrictions on bringing the car in for maintenance to keep the warranty valid? Also from reading the car traders around my area it looks like the Cadillac CPO warranty is even able to be transferred to a new owner if I were to sell the car before the warranty expires. Is the warranty as good as it sounds? I have searched the internet on these things but it seems like everywhere I look people are saying different things. Thanks everyone for your help in advance!

EChas3
08-07-10, 03:58 PM
The FE3 Magnetic Ride Control shocks do provide a more sport-oriented feel & ride; AWD models even more so. My wife's 2007 STS is a Hertz fleet model and offers a dramatic contrast to my loaded 2006 AWD with FE3. The data sheet on her car contains several suspension RPO codes (deletes?). Take the time to test drive differently equipped cars. The differences will surprise you.