: Question for Verizon Blackberry owners

agp
08-02-10, 05:11 PM
Hey guys, I've been thinking about getting a Blackberry for a while, and have been doing some research, but everywhere I look, people say that Verizon forces Berry owners to purchase a data plan. Is this true? Is it possible to use a Verizon Berry to call/text withOUT a data plan? And if you ask why I/anyone would want a Berry without a data plan - I'm a college student and I can't afford to pay $45 a month just to browse the internet on my phone, but I really like Blackberries/Brick Breaker :thumbsup:

nikon
08-02-10, 05:38 PM
yes, your forced to get a data plan, it's 30$ not 45$.....most phones now, with most providers, unless they are very basic require either a texting plan or internet plan.

agp
08-02-10, 08:10 PM
I'm just looking at the phones on Verizon's website - I currently have the LG Chocolate Touch, and Verizon says that it requires the $9.99 data package, but I only have the 450 minutes plan + unlimited text to Verizon... Maybe Verizon just says that you need the plan?

nikon
08-02-10, 09:10 PM
No blackberrys have their own plan. 30$ for normal, and 45$ for enterprise.

iowasevillests
08-02-10, 11:47 PM
I'm just looking at the phones on Verizon's website - I currently have the LG Chocolate Touch, and Verizon says that it requires the $9.99 data package, but I only have the 450 minutes plan + unlimited text to Verizon... Maybe Verizon just says that you need the plan?