: 2001 Cadillac Deville Stalls/rough idle

RichardH
07-24-10, 04:50 PM
Hello,

This is my first time here, I discovered this site while looking for reasons for my problem. I have a 2001 cadillac deville, it has 82k miles, however for the past few weeks I have been experiencing a very rough idle, I though that it may be a dirty fuel line so i ran some cleaner through, no help. and then a few days ago it stalled out on me when i was coming to a stop. I took it into my mechanic, and he said that it may be cam shaft sensors, but he wasnt sure. He did however mention that the rough idle may be part of a vacuum problem. I have read on here about the vacuum prendulm but I wanted some help on how to locate it, pictures would be great....lol. Also i read on a few sites that the stalling may be due to a recalled sensor in the transmission, but if not that any advice as to what to do?

Submariner409
07-24-10, 05:16 PM
Look at these and then remove the engine beauty cover. Let it idle. Shoot a shot of Brakleen or starting fluid down at the base of the throttlebody-to-intake manifold plenum clamp screw. Any idle change is a split plenum - common. Dealer only, about $35 -40. 2 hours with simple tools and a bit of gearhead experience. Look down in Cadillac Technical tips - go through a few thread pages - there's a TON of info in those 10 pages..............

BUT, if you find/decide to do the plenum job, come back here first: there are a few hoops to jump through.

(Go up to the top of the main Deville threads page and read the ENTIRE sticky thread titled "How to pull codes". It's all built into your car; you don't need a scanner.)

Click the thumbnails to enlarge............

WELCOME ABOARD !!!!

RichardH
07-24-10, 07:31 PM
Ok grabbed codes, couldnt check the engine, its a downpour here, I got as follows
IPC u1301
IPC U1016
PCM P0101
PCM P0121
PCM P0300
RCC U1000