: Hey Guys, new here, looking for thoughts and advice on possible STS purchase

sdmfer
07-15-10, 10:21 AM
Hey everyone, first time here. I havent had a chance to dig through all the great info here, but definately will get started as soon as I make this post.

Anyways, here's a rundown of may possible plans and questions I have...

I currently commute to work and back total of approx 160 kms (100 miles) daily, not stop and go traffic pretty much moving the whole way. I have been driving a Jetta TDI Diesel for the last 6 years. But getting tired of the small space. (used to have a 97 STS before that).

Last night I went and checked out an 08 CTS which look awesome and are very nice, but jesus, the interior room is not really any bigger than my jetta. Then I moved over one car and sat in an 05 STS. My thoughts on the interior=Perfect! Everything (steering wheel, seat position etc, is right where I want it). Im not a big guy either, just like to have some room. (5'10-5'11, 185-190lbs etc....depending on how much beer I drink that week)

Anyways, without babbling on too much here are my questions.
- Which year would you guys recommend for a used STS without getting into too much $$$. I like the 08+ but is there really that big of a difference from the 05-07's?
- What kind of HWY fuel mileage are you guys getting with the 6 banger?
- should I try and find one with the direct injection?
- looking also for something with built in navi and bluetooth and the most if not all the bells and whistles.
- any major issues i need to worry about sine I will be commuting in this car?
- would also like to run regular gas if thats ok.
- any major items to look at or pay more attention to when looking at used ones?
- any other advice?

Im sure I have more, but I will also continue searching around this forum. Thanks very much in advance for any tips, help, advice etc.

SDMF

next2pool
07-15-10, 11:49 AM