: The end has come for my '87 FWB

ReagansRollsRoyce
06-29-10, 12:13 PM
Well, it's been a while since I've been on here, but I have to let you guys know my '87 FWB is shot.

The shame of it all is that it's a beautiful car...white, no underbody rust, beautiful white leather seats, power stuff still working (including the a/c), vinyl top still excellent...and in a garage for 90% of its life.

But, I'm an attorney, not a mechanic. And I'm a young attorney who has mondo student loans to pay back in a legal market where salaries are terrible. No one can say I didn't try with this car. I brought it back from the dead once a few years back, with a 307 V8 from a 1990 Brougham, with some help from the guys on here. But now cylinder #2 has horrible compression (I got 3 opinions on that) and she needs a valve job. Plus, the braking system is screwed up in a number of ways...the master cylinder seal is distorted, the front brakes are wearing unevenly, the hoses are rotted...it all adds up to probably another $2K-4K in repairs I'm not ready to take on.

Another factor is that I'm moving to NYC soon for my job, and obviously, there's no place there for an FWB! If the engine and brakes were okay, I might have stashed it outside the city in storage, but I can't justify that when it's not in full operating condition, too expensive.

If anyone wants the car, please PM me or shoot me an email at oklolaw@gmail.com. I can send some pictures, but I'm not going to go through the trouble of uploading them here. I think it will be at the mechanic's for another day, then I'll send it to a junkyard, but if nobody gets back to me about it in the next day or so, I'll update this thread with the name and address of the junkyard. I will (perhaps to no avail) see if I can persuade them not to crush it or anything for a few weeks so if you guys want it you can get at it.