: Clutch is slow to rebound during fast shifts?

smbstyle
06-26-10, 11:30 PM
Im pretty new to hydraulic clutches, but I've noticed this since I've had the car... basically, when I'm really getting on it, full throttle from 2nd to 3rd gear when I shift very fast I notice that the clutch is a little slow to come back up, and doesnt come back up as fast as my foot does, and it makes the same sound as the e-brake does when it is released. Is this normal with hydraulic clutches and the cts-v, or do I need to get this looked at?

smbstyle
06-27-10, 12:55 AM
Im pretty new to hydraulic clutches, but I've noticed this since I've had the car... basically, when I'm really getting on it, full throttle from 2nd to 3rd gear when I shift very fast I notice that the clutch is a little slow to come back up, and doesnt come back up as fast as my foot does, and it makes the same sound as the e-brake does when it is released. Is this normal with hydraulic clutches and the cts-v, or do I need to get this looked at?

also, just to give more info to rule out other issues, the clutch has plenty of pressure, it does not stick at all, seems to do it more on the 2-3 shift and not really noticeable on 1-2 and 3-4. just compared to the cable clutch cars I've driven seems a little slower to come back up...

UnsafeAtAnySpd
06-27-10, 01:50 AM
Not to jack your thread, but instead of creating another I thought I would add onto yours...
I'm having clutch pedal issues as well. On turns the pedal will drop to the floor. I have to pull it back up with my toe. It has been recently bled (about 500 miles ago). Thoughts on this? I think that's a sign of crankwalk in DSMs.

darkman
06-27-10, 09:38 AM
The checklist in the service manual for Clutch Pedal Spongy Low Pedal Effort, such that pedal may feel spongy, or requires very little effort to operate, is paraphrased as follows:
1. Air in Hydraulic System- Bleed the system.