: 1995 Fleetwood Fuel Filter

outsider
06-15-10, 12:23 PM
So I was picking up stuff to do my oil change and figured "why not do the fuel filter while I'm at it!" so I looked in the parts thing at walmart and it said I needed fram fuel filter 7333 or something...So I bought it.

I know where the fuel filter is. I saw it when I was changing the muffler. My question is this. I've never done an in-line fuel filter before. All my cars are carbed except this one. Can anyone give me some pointers/process tips.

What are the steps involved, tools needed etc...I'm sure it's easy but I don't want to mess anything up :)

Thanks as always

jayoldschool
06-15-10, 12:30 PM
Take the gas cap off to relieve pressure. Have a pan under the filter to catch the gas. Have some rags ready. WEAR EYE PROTECTION.

outsider
06-15-10, 01:10 PM
the eye protection part is the one I always skip! I wear glasses so I never think to put on protective goggles although I know I should. Thanks Jay.

What kind of connections do these filters have? Is it like a nut or something?

HUF
06-15-10, 01:48 PM
the eye protection part is the one I always skip! I wear glasses so I never think to put on protective goggles although I know I should. Thanks Jay.

What kind of connections do these filters have? Is it like a nut or something?
Do it in the morning when there is no pressure in fuel system. Open the gas tank though, as Jay mentioned. There are most likely quick connect type connectors. When reconnecting, recondition the o-rings with a drop of clean motor oil.

outsider
06-15-10, 02:22 PM
Thanks for the tip on the motor oil HUF. This should be pretty easy for me to do seeing as how I'll be changing the oil at the time anyways :)

mjs182004
06-15-10, 03:24 PM