: I think I want a V

kevm14
06-03-10, 09:17 PM
I've been a member poking around in the old D-body section for a little while now, but my interest has turned to the "V1" CTS-V. I've been driving my old Caprice for 9 years now and it's great - has 260k. But I came to the realization that without a frame off restoration, it's not going to last forever, and while cool, I can also probably live without my 95 Fleetwood.

A few years ago I became obsessed with the Chrysler LX cars. Then the SRT-8 cars. I even drove a 300C (not SRT-8). Then I kinda started to wait for prices to drop, and while waiting, decided to just build up an LQ4 for my Caprice and outrun the SRT-8 anyway, so I stopped.

Then the G8 GXP came out, and I got all spun up again, since I like GM. I was pretty sure this was the car for me, but it was missing a whole bunch of features that, with the prospect of having my first car payment ever, I would all but demand. And I will say they are in the low 30s right now, and I just can't spend that kind of money. The most expensive car I ever bought was a 95 Camaro Z28 in 2004, for $4200...so if I am going to do a car payment, it had better be the right car.

I thought I had previously written off these CTS-Vs but a friend recommended I look more closely into them and I have to say, aside from being "mid-sized" I think this might be the car for me. Should give up nothing in performance to the GXP, yet it has all those luxury goodies I will enjoy on my mundane commute. I haven't driven any Sigma, but I hope to soon. Hopefully I'll like it. I love the idea of all the features being stock, including nav.