: Please Help!!! I am baffeled

jteller1
05-21-10, 08:42 AM
Good morning everyone, My name is John and I am a newbie. :bigroll:

I am a proud new owner of a 1994 seville SLS with a 4.6L northstar with 143000 miles. I am currently experiencing a engine cut out problem. once the engine gets hot I say around 215 degrees I can be driving along and it just cuts out. I did have a P032 Map sensor code. the wiring checked out so I replaced the sensor. That helped with the performance but now it just runs along fine and then dies. I did have a history code for lost of sync. but it has nont returned. :(. Should I replace the cam and cranksensors????:suspense: If so, where are those things located???

Thanks for all of your info, Hopefully I can get this resolved without to much :alchi:

Submariner409
05-21-10, 11:30 AM
If necessary, use these..........

Surf through your car in www.rockauto.com

jteller1
05-21-10, 11:57 AM
Thank you so much submariner409.:worship:

I just want to let everyone know that I also replaced the plugs and wires. I used Bosch wires and Autolite double platiumn plugs. I also washed the engine down really good. :bouncy:

Submariner409
05-21-10, 12:38 PM
:eek: Don't wash a Northstar !!

Unfortunately these things have so many nooks, crannies, electrical connectors, sensors, you-name-it that the stories of "I washed it and now it misses/runs rough/stalls out" would fill a book. Most of us just pick away at it with Windex, Armor-All, good rags and a beer. Some judicious work with rags, tape, and a rattle can of semi-gloss black enamel doesn't hurt, either.

Remove the engine cover and use a good flashlight to see if there's any water down in the valley under the intake manifold - look in the openings under the ends - the starter motor is in there and it's easy to flood it out. You may need to get creative with a shop vac and some 5/8" vacuum tubing.

tateos
05-21-10, 01:30 PM