: 92 FWB Buildup

92cadvette
05-18-10, 09:04 PM
Hey,
Newbie here. This site is great. I am building a musclecar 92 FWB and was wondering has anyone used an ls v8 engine series in the D bodies yet. I am also thinking about a vortech swap or running a 454 in it. The smallblock with a power adder is more pratical being I already have a 305 right now but I need to find out what rear axle I have and if it can hold up to the power. I'm guessing it's a 7.5 but hope it's the 8.5?? Right now I've been happy to upgrade the front suspension to Impala ss Eibach springs, SS wheels and dual exhaust. Kinda has a cool rake to it.....
Any ideas much appreciated.

Shawn

drmenard
05-18-10, 09:27 PM
Why not keep it a cadillac? There are plenty of us who have put a 500 or 472 in these cars...I know of three vendors that work just with these motors...Its not to hard to get these to 425hp and 500 ft lbs of torque.. and if you want 500hp it can be done...

92cadvette
05-18-10, 09:38 PM
Hey great idea. I have been wanting to research that possibility too. There is of course no replacement for displacement. Would kinda cool to crush the big 454's with cadillac derived power.

csbuckn
05-18-10, 10:51 PM
Do you think you can post a side view of the car with the impala rims on it? I've been debating those for a while. Do they rub much? You have 8.5 3.08s in the rear, or the rare 8.5 3.43/3.73(don't remember with one) posi in your car now. I vote the caddy motor, save another one from the crusher.

Stingroo
05-18-10, 10:58 PM
The better rear end was 3.42, IIRC. I don't think 3.73's were ever an option. Would be sweeet though.

Are you trying to turn it into a drag car, I assume?

csbuckn
05-18-10, 11:10 PM
Had to look this one up cause I've been looking for one, 91 & 92 came with an option for 3.73 9.5" posi. Still had drum brakes and it doesnt say what swaybar is one it either. Wonder if anybody here has one.

jayoldschool
05-19-10, 01:06 AM