: What do you ride in snowy winter road conditions?

lousy_investor
05-10-10, 01:14 AM
I know I know... it is hardly the season to be talking about this, but I am just curious as you what you ride on during the winter time in the snowy part of the country. I live in Toronto, Canada and I don't have to describe the winter weather here to you. :) I have been driving BMWs for 10+ years and I always have winter tires on. Just wonder if keeping the stock all season is good enough for the Escalade.

Thanks.. and hopefully we won't be seeing any winter weather any time soon, though it did snow slightly yesterday.

07maralade
05-10-10, 01:22 AM
If you are asking what kind of car, did you expect any other awnsers besides an escalade?

If you are asking about the tire, stock are fine but if you want to be on the very safe side, get a set of blizzaks. I spent a bit of time in Ottawa this winter and my 18's were fine but stopping was subpar.

lousy_investor
05-10-10, 02:19 AM
Thanks 07maralade for your reply... yeah, I was just wondering about the tires. The stopping even in summer time is not ideal in my opinion. If it gets any worst in the winter i better get some winter tires. :) I test drove 4 different ones before I settled on my 08 and none of the others would stop in time for me just on stop signs. I found myself constantly 2 ft beyond. But of course I drove my 545i to test drive them the brakes on the bimmer were superb.

I have been an advocate of winter tires but it is still one of those thing I would avoid if I could... another set of rims can get expensive too. Then again I can save my chrome for the summer and not having to worry about rusting.

Good I still have a few months to ponder upon it. :)

You in the Toronto area too? Any other tips you can give to a fellow Canadian?

BTW, really like your handle.

07maralade
05-10-10, 03:40 AM