: New to the World of Cadillac

JesseHawks
03-25-10, 08:11 AM
Hi all - I'm a lifelong Pontiac Firebird fan in Western Oregon and new to the forum. This is my intro post. I'm a self-employed video/film producer and a writer.

I've always liked sports cars and nice-looking rides, though I've never been able to spend a ton of money for the latest and greatest cars on the market. Three days ago I passed by a 1996 Cadillac Eldorado at a used car lot. After making about three passes I stopped in, test drove it, then purchased it later in the day. During the test drive it performed like a dream, despite its very high mileage. I decided to shell out the $2800 and took it home.

Later in the day I decided to drive the 15 minutes down the freeway to show my parents. I picked up my dad and took off. About three minutes into the trip, the temp gauge started to rise and eventually went into the red. We pulled over, noticing the steam coming out from under the engine. Opened the hood and appeared that hot coolant was spraying out from somewhere as it was splashed around on the engine.

After a call to the dealer he came with his own tow truck and picked up the car himself and said he'd repair it at no extra charge. The next day his mechanic repaired a faulty hose clamp leading to the coolant and put on a new cap. He delivered it in person to my door. After he left, I attempted to start the car and it wouldn't start. I called him up and he came back and towed it away again.

So far I've had bad luck with my first Cadillac. But hey, I had the money to blow and I know to expect problems with a car that has 166,000 miles on it already. Plus, I've had plenty of practice playing the TLC & Constant Repairs Game considering I own a 10-year old Pontiac F-body. lol