: Wet Carpet on passenger side??

BossLady
11-30-09, 12:38 AM
So I have a 2001 Cadillac Catera. And the carpet only on the passenger side has been getting soaking wet lately...it has been raining quite a bit but it doesn't seem plausible water would be getting through from underneath the car. Also the other day while I was driving I heard like water draining from somewhere..like under the glovebox area. I was told this could be a heater hose problem. Anyone experience this problem and have some input? I still have to do some further investigating like check the water level, wouldn't that be getting low if it was the heater hose draining?

mike1588
11-30-09, 01:06 AM
Im still pretty new with cats but i would check the heater core for leaks that is what it sounds like to me. I saw a thread for at some point they had that problem and fixed it and there is a way to drain the water also i am still pretty new with this forum but just do a search on the heater core you are bound to run into the thread sorry i couldnt be of more help though.

Mike

crazcaddyguy
12-01-09, 05:01 AM
If your car is not over heating than more than likely is that you got a pluged drain hole that is on the passenger side of the engine bay on the bottom you can't miss it rite below the overflow tank I think but anywho when you see it clear it out and your water issue gone as far as the water in there now use a wet vac or car wash one good luck!

xanax06
12-01-09, 01:59 PM
If your car is not over heating than more than likely is that you got a pluged drain hole that is on the passenger side of the engine bay on the bottom you can't miss it rite below the overflow tank I think but anywho when you see it clear it out and your water issue gone as far as the water in there now use a wet vac or car wash one good luck!

Exactly. I had the same thing. The water comes in thru the cabin air filter.
It happens every year when the leaves start falling.

BossLady
12-01-09, 09:13 PM