: New to the forums!

mike1588
11-29-09, 11:17 PM
Hello my name is mike im new to the whole cadillac thing. I bought a 97 catera with 192000 miles and it runs pretty good i havent had any problems with it so far and i have had the car a month now the transmission needs some work though. My biggest problem now is the suspension my rear passanger tire wobbles while driveing and the tire is slanted i dont know why that is i know i need new shocks i am thinking about going with the monroe air shocks on rock auto for 100 for the set of 2 but i dunno i may do the gto swap on those. now i want to find a rebuild kit for the engine also but i have had no luck on finding one cause i want to have the trans and engine rebuild by next summer so i am gonna start buying everything next month i have never done a rebuild so if someone could help me with a parts list that would be great

R-Caddy
11-29-09, 11:37 PM
Welcome Mike.
I would be easy on that complete engine rebuild. Probably cheaper to get a new 3.2, since a lot of parts (bearings) will have to include a sstop to the dealer...
You can buy the Monroe shocks, or you could buy new GTO shocks for about $32 a piece. Either way it will work. As far as the wobble goes, check for bumps on the tires.
Transmission will be a little trickier. I am not aware of a rebuild kit, but that doesn't mean that they don't exist.
Some of the parts on the car may be slightly more dufficult to find, but a lot is available in UK.
Good luck,
Aras

mike1588
11-29-09, 11:58 PM