: ok i need help, where are the creative free thinkers with a good business sense at?

itschrome
11-06-09, 11:55 AM
Ok, here is the deal. I am now 3 months unemployed, highly skilled IT professional and i just cant get a damn job. I send out at least 5 to 6 resumes a day and here back on maybe one or 2 of them a week, out of which i get maybe one interview every two weeks. The jobs are out there but i just cant seem to get through HR to get them. This is were i want your help, i need good out side of the box ideas to get hired. your always hearing about some random person who went out side the normal and did something different to advertise them selves to job recruiters. I want ideas on what i can do to stand above the crowd.

EcSTSatic
11-06-09, 12:14 PM
I work in IT at an Aerospace company. Our new CIO wants to downsize our IT dept of about 400 people by 20-40% by the end of the year. It is being publicized as trying to support a global enterprise, not a cost savings.
Anyway, the key areas of stability are in governance, business cases, integration testing and deployment.

It's too easy to outsource development or what the call commodity skills. You need to market a niche skill you have that is not replaceable or get into some sort of oversight group that works with companies and their external partners.

gary88
11-06-09, 12:20 PM
I saw a kid standing outside the board of trade the other day with a sign that said "Entrepreneur - need capital" and a bucket next to him.

Submariner409
11-06-09, 01:09 PM
"In the Navy, you can sail the seven seas,
In the Navy, you can put your mind at ease..................."

Better yet, get into the Air Force and make a few bucks, stay in the U.S., and start a career. .........and they'll send you to school and pay for a degree.

itschrome
11-06-09, 04:08 PM
"In the Navy, you can sail the seven seas,
In the Navy, you can put your mind at ease..................."