Cadillac Owners Forum banner

auto-x on 275/40 rear tires

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  06BlackonBlackCTSV 
#1 ·
I did my 3rd autocross yesterday, the first with new tires. As I just started autocrossing (I'm a complete novice, but have two track days, including skid pad work, in a different car) As I intend to do 8 more events before Christmas, I bought a set of cheap trainers but in special sizes: General UHP's in 255/40 F and 275/40 R on stock wheels. This tire is not top of the heap by any means, but is half the price of Michelins. Since there's been a lot of talk on this thread about the 275-size, I thought I'd give a report.

The car is completely stock and has been aligned per the "aggressive street" settings in the FAQ. By the way, these settings had a marked effect on increasing turn-in responsiveness, i.e. reducing initial turn-in understeer.

After two events on worn Dunlop Sport-Maxx in 245/45 all around, I felt like the biggest weakness of this car is too much power and weight compared to the amount of rubber, especially in the rear. (Of course, the idiot behind the wheel overdriving the dang thing wasn't any help.) I hoped that wider and newer rubber in the rear would be better. Since it looked like 255 would fit on front, I didn't want to mix aspect ratios, and tire contact patch width is what really helps cornering traction, I went with the slightly wider/lower aspect ratio in the front even though it reduced the diameter a few percent. And, in spite of what some people on this forum think about sticking to the standard recommended tire/wheel width ranges, my research showed that 275/40 on 8.5" wheels is not anything except normal in autocross circles and is only slightly outside the recommended range. (Even wider is used for strictly competition setups.)