: crate 2000 Northstar in a 59 Chevy Suburban

Hotrodelectric
07-15-04, 04:18 PM
Hi all- a newbie here. Here's a project that'll throw a curve into your day: I've been working for the past 2 years on a streetrod for a wheelchair-bound man. Picture a '59 Suburban. The floor is flat, necessitating front-drive. The rear opens like a hatchback and the last 2-1/2 feet of the rear floor drops to form a ramp. The drivetrain is a 'crate-motor' 2000 Northstar (coils directly over the plugs) and the 4L80e tranny, in a 2000 Deville cradle. The nose was stretched 9" to accomodate all this. We are finally ready to run the car. Well, the engine harness and PCM (taken from a wrecked 2K Deville) were sent to another shop, their claim was they could modify the PCM, eliminate the PK3, modify much of the OBD2, and so on. Well, guess what didn't get eliminated.... I can start the car (the starter doesn't go through the PCM here), and it will run for a few seconds, then die. A check with a noid light confirms my suspicions- the injectors are being cut, just as the Passkey is supposed to do. I think the owner still has the steering column from the wrecked Deville, and correspondingly the ignition cylinder and the antitheft module. I would need the key, and probably go beg, borrow or steal a Tech2. Questions? Comments please- I've even thought of going the earlier Northstar route 'electrically' (pre-'97 (?) computer and coil packs) to get around the Passkey3 .
Thanks in advance, all.
Bill

:banghead2 I'm a custom car electrician- this is my lot in life!

BeelzeBob
07-16-04, 01:28 AM
You have a real problem there.....

First, the 2000 and later Northstars have a COMPLETELY different control system from the 1999 and earlier engines. Really nothing in common at all. Different crank sensors, coils, ignition, PCM, etc. It was all changed in 2000 and is very difficult to get running outside of the normal OEM installation in a Cadillac.