: Recommendation on a 10" free air subwoofer

mrchris1979
05-15-09, 02:23 AM
Planning on replacing the stock BOSE sub with an aftermarket sub and amplifier. So far I've only been able to find a Kicker Comp 07C104 10" 4-ohm subwoofer from Crutchfield http://www.crutchfield.com/p_2067C104/Kicker-Comp-07C104.html?tp=111 Looks like this one should fit in the rear shelf nicely. Great sale price on this sub right now too. The RMS rating is a bit lower than I would like but anything should be better then the BOSE sub. Any other recommendation on a 10" free air sub that will fit on the rear shelf? Perhaps one that can handle a bit more power. I've never used a free air sub before so I'm hoping this will give the sound system a bit of bass improvement.

heavymetals
05-15-09, 02:57 AM
I use an INFINITY 1040W.

You still have to remove some of the ID to get it to fit.

mrchris1979
05-15-09, 04:28 AM
Thanks for the response. How much material of the ID did you have to remove and was your method of removal? I looked at your stats and saw another member had a similar question regarding your set-up. If you don't mind, I'll send you an E-mail and I would like to see your pics and wiring diagram as well. Particularly interested on how you spliced into the power wiring going to the fuse boxes under the rear seat for amp power. This should save me time on running wire all the way to the battery. I'll be using the DavidNavone LOC as well so hopefully the amp install should be a breeze. Just gotta find a 12v accessory trigger somewhere near the trunk so I don't have to mess with pulling the head unit.

mrchris1979
05-15-09, 04:44 AM
Well damn. Can't find the Infinity 1040W sub any where. It's been discontinued. Looks like I'll have to do settle with the Kicker Comp for now.

odla
05-15-09, 07:35 AM
take pics of your install i would like to do the same as you. thanks

calidave
05-15-09, 05:18 PM