: Luxury Car Focus Group

Brett
06-25-03, 11:27 PM
Went to a luxury car focus group last night, it was me and 4 Lincoln owners...ugh. It was interesting seeing how some people see things completely differently. These guys were saying how Cadillac was moving down market, and lincoln was moving up. that it was "obvious" that Lincoln is the choice for the young luxury buyers, and Cadillac doesnt even have cars that young people would like

They attacked the Escalade for being a Tahoe, which i agreed with to a point, but pointed out the similarity of the Expedition and the Navigator. At which point they all told me that wasnt true and i didnt know what i was talking about. Sometimes its hard not to kill.

Most of them admitted that they had never been in a Cadillac dealer. And 1 guy told me he couldnt wait to get another new continental next year, i just laughed. Im no mechanic or technical genius, but i do know current events in the auto world, and having to debate 4 non-car people was very tiring.

I did get $100 for the 2 hour meeting though

Night Wolf
06-25-03, 11:49 PM
Hmmm, Cadillac is getting ALOT more popular now, and the age group is going from 50-80 to 25-45 or so it seems

It's Lincoln that is going down....I just never hear anything about them, I will admit the styling of the new Town Car is nice, and the new LS with the V8 is nice too, but that's it..... it seems like it is BMW, MB and Caddy and Lexus now that are all the buzz

scourge
06-26-03, 04:05 AM
Cadillacs don't really appeal to that many younger people for various reasons. But, neither does Lincoln so I don't know why those guys would go on with the BS that they did. Stock for stock, I'd take a Lincoln LS over and Caddy. But, with a Northstar swap with a 5-speed tranny in the Catera....I take the Catera anyday.

HotRodSaint
06-26-03, 09:07 AM
...At which point they all told me that wasnt true and i didnt know what i was talking about. Sometimes its hard not to kill.