Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Paint question

707 views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  SoJersey05V 
#1 ·
Had my hood repainted three weeks ago and there were small bumps and dimples in the paint so I took it back this morning and they "buffed everything out" which means they wetsanded the troubled areas and then put compound all over the hood and wiped it off... Problem now is that there are swirls all over the fresh paint now from putting on and taking off the compound.. When I first picked up the car I was told wait at least a month before polishing/waxing but now that they've done this, should I still wait? are these swirls easily gonna come out?

#2 ·
im not a paint expert but I'm sure you should wait at least two weeks... and Ill give you a bump.

if you have a black car.. youre gonna have noticable swirls...
Cowan

#3 ·
Had my hood repainted three weeks ago and there were small bumps and dimples in the paint so I took it back this morning and they "buffed everything out" which means they wetsanded the troubled areas and then put compound all over the hood and wiped it off... Problem now is that there are swirls all over the fresh paint now from putting on and taking off the compound.. When I first picked up the car I was told wait at least a month before polishing/waxing but now that they've done this, should I still wait? are these swirls easily gonna come out?
in my experiacne NO....i would take it back and have them do it with a machine...I'm sure you paid good money...make them produce a good product...

#4 ·
So they told you not to polish or wax, but they used compound on it? :hmm:

They should paint it again until it's right. What did it cost to get repainted?

#5 ·
The hood should have been wool pad buffed with compound then sponge pad buffed with polish. imo