: $788 To fix P0410 Code

italy62
04-01-09, 05:44 PM
i have a 2002 SLS i know this has been talked about 100 times but when the caddy dealership said my CNA warranty didn't cover this P0410 code for the secondary air pump job and it was going to cost me $788 to fix i was stunned.after reading all the posts i wanted to know if someone with a SLS can walk me trough this job.i am not a mechanic but i do my own brakes,oil and other small repairs and feel i can do it but reading all the other posts i don't see one for a SLS and i am not sure if it is exactly the same.caddy said the parts 19515549 and 88988942 were going to cost me $362 and the rest was labor.the auto zone manager said he could get me the GM parts for $280 and then i saw GMDirect and they were $124.62 and $22.06.so if there is anybody who has the time and knowledge to explain this job to me i would be greatfull,and are these the only 2 parts i need? i also read about check valves and blocked hoses with carbon in them so if i just should bite the bullett and pay the $788 tell me.i just need the steps how to do it and the locations of the parts.

Submariner409
04-01-09, 06:03 PM
The A.I.R. pump is known to fail from water ingestion. Hopefully the rest of the system is OK.

The pump itself is up inside the left front wheelwell. Remove the tire and plastic liner. That part is a simple connector/hose clamp replacement job. Route the air intake hose well away from any splash or direct water exposure possibility.

The rest of it would be murder: the 2 manifold valves and piping.

The system is emissions related, so maybe you could use that for some compensation.

codewize
04-01-09, 06:35 PM
Are you sure the pump has failed? Have you been under the hood lately ?

italy62
04-02-09, 06:58 AM