: Change engine...

Pjotr
07-08-04, 09:03 PM
My 472 -68 had a broken piston so I'm gonna change the engine with a 500 -74.
Could I just take away the airpump, all hoses and the smog things and just plug all holes? Then I'm gonna change the distributor to the old one. And put my old Holley to the -74 500 engine. Any problems to do this? What should I think about? What can go wrong?
I'm a beginner in these cars, but I like my old Caddy.:) Thank's for all help with my other questions.

barge master
07-14-04, 08:13 PM
Their pretty much the same animal, you should have no problems. I'd consider an HEI distributor though.

davesdeville
07-15-04, 06:48 PM
I don't know why you'd change to the old distributor. 74 was the first year for HEI.

Pjotr
07-16-04, 02:23 AM
I don't know why you'd change to the old distributor. 74 was the first year for HEI.
I don't know if it should be any more parts who is working with the Delco Remy (HEI)? distributor, I just got a complete engine. It's only one red kable in to the distributor, to the ignition + I presume?
Would be thankful for help so I can use this one.

DaveSmed
07-17-04, 02:44 AM
Correct. It should be labeled B+ or sonething like that, along side TACH. You only need to connect B+ to the ignition switch (same wire that went to positive side of the coil on the old system) Everything else is contained in the distributor.

lux hauler
07-17-04, 09:01 AM
Correct. It should be labeled B+ or sonething like that, along side TACH. You only need to connect B+ to the ignition switch (same wire that went to positive side of the coil on the old system) Everything else is contained in the distributor.A HEI needs full system voltage.....There's more that has to be done. I don't have time to get into it right now. If no one else gets to this, I'll get it later today.

lux hauler
07-17-04, 12:03 PM