: 500 ci. carb question

AZ Dave
07-07-04, 06:44 PM
I just posted on the new members listing then I saw this one.

I was lookin to maybe rebuild the carb on my eldorado when my wife said just get a new one. So since thats a option any suggestions as to what has been working best.
thanks Dave

davesdeville
07-07-04, 11:18 PM
Well a new carb's gonna be probably $400. A professional rebuild is $200 and up. A rebuild kit is $20. If you feel comfortable working with a lot of small parts, try rebuilding it.

Ogier
07-08-04, 12:46 AM
A good rule of thumb is to use the following formula as a guideline:

(Cu/In)*max_rpm/3456=cfm.

Engine = 500cu/in
Max_rpm = 4500

formula looks like 500*4500/3456 = 651cfm carb.

Please note, I have been building engines for over 20 years and this formula is pretty close at all levels. Too much carb will cause you nothing but grief.

Good luck.
Ogier :dance:

Sasquatch
07-08-04, 09:39 AM
I put a brand NEW Edelbrock Performer 1411 carb on my 69 Caddy hearse with a 472 motor. This carb is 750 cfm electric choke and I love it. Easy to install and $298.00 from Advance Discount Auto Parts. If your going new this is a great carb. you will have to buy the adapter plate for an additional $30.00 but it is well worth it. Pulled it out of the box bolted it on and started driving. Didn't need to mess with the carb in anyway as far as adjusting it. Was perfect right out of the box. http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive/carb_square.html

Imprl59
07-08-04, 04:51 PM
I just posted on the new members listing then I saw this one.

I was lookin to maybe rebuild the carb on my eldorado when my wife said just get a new one. So since thats a option any suggestions as to what has been working best.
thanks Dave