: '74 Sammy Davis Jr./Louis Vuitton Talisman Legit?

03-01-09, 07:40 PM
Did Sammy Davis Jr. add Louis Vuitton nick-nacks to this Talisman back in '74, or do you think the seller is making false claims? Here's the description:

In 1974 there was no better example of full-sized American luxury than the ultra-rare Cadillac Fleetwood Talisman. And there was no better entertainer than Sammy Davis Jr. So when Sammy decided to commission his very own luxury car the result was this Cadillac. The Talisman was the customized version of the Fleetwood and its owners had the ability to customize it in every way. Sammy Davis hired none other than Louis Vuitton to create a customized "LV" roof with matching interior accents to outfit this Caddy. This car has been kept 100% original and garaged for more than 30 years. This is your chance to own a truly 1-of-a-kind collector's car that will never lose its cachet. Please call Jeff for more pictures and information @ 702-265-7844

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cadillac-Fleetwood-Talisman-1974-Cadillac-Fleetwood-Talisman-Sammy-davis-Jr_W0QQitemZ300296168861QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Cars _Trucks?hash=item300296168861&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=72%3A1171%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A131 8

03-01-09, 08:46 PM
Only thing I don't like about the car is the LV stuff. Otherwise it is sweet!. I thought the brothers only started doing the LV stuff recently. This shows history. :alchi:

03-02-09, 10:52 PM
Hard to tell. I'd want tons of provenance to back up the claims before even considering a purchase. If it's legit, it's got a certain cache. Otherwise, it's an erstwhile nice car that's been mildly pimped.

03-03-09, 09:32 AM
hey can someone post the acutal pictures. I would love to see them, but i am blocked from Ebay at work.

03-03-09, 02:56 PM



03-03-09, 03:06 PM
Thanks dirt cheap. Now does anyone know why I can't see them? I only see a red "X"

03-04-09, 02:06 PM
If work blocks Ebay they may also block any images from ebay. Those are just links so technically they are still part of the Ebay website.

03-04-09, 02:42 PM
you are right. I didn't know that was what was listed there. there was one of the threads a few weeks ago that started out with an Ebay picture i guess, and it woudln't even let me open the thread.