: Potential buyer questions..

dmount
02-28-09, 09:59 PM
I have been looking for a relacemt for my current vehicle, and sorta fell in love with the SRX. I'm a Regional Manager in the Southeast, and tend to spend a lot of windshield time, 1300 miles this week, 850 last week, 1200 the week before. The preowned units I have settled on are 2004-2006 models, 2-wheel drive (if I need AWD there has been a horrible mistake!) v-6, unless the folks on this brain trust tell me I need a Northstar.
The units I've looked at have 40,000 + /- on them which doesn't really concern me, but every ine I have seen, and there have been several, have the computer history cleared, and have no mikeage history available. This leads me to believe these cars get horrible mileage and it's one of the free worlds best kept secrets. (I have a deep seated distrust of most Auto Dealers)
Can any of you good folks tell me what sort of mileage I can expect? 75% - 80% of my driving is cruising Interstates at 75mph (+/-). My other concern is reliablity and long life; my current vehicle, an Excursion, has run over 250,000 with almost no additional service other than normal maintenence, but the 12.6 mpg is a little stiff when gas was $4.00.

Are there any foiblees or problems I should expect? Added unexpected maintenence, or wear items? I plan on running this to at least 200,000, but not if I can't keep it on the road, or it nickels and dimes me to death.
I love the looks, ride and handling and I'm sorta hoping y'all dont have any major complaints to disuade me.
Thanks in advance for any help or insight you can provide.

c5 rv
02-28-09, 10:50 PM
I have an 06 RWD V6 that I drive 80% highway. The DIC currently reads 20.9 MPG average. It goes up about 1 MPG in the summer due to the different gas blend.

As for 200K, I'd do some reading here about timing chain problems. I've have few major problems (39K miles so far), but plenty of smaller ones.