: Ok ok ok

Speedtrip
02-19-09, 08:02 AM
I know with all the HORROR stories about the 97 , my wife has fallin in love with my bosses 97 and he wants her to have it .He rarely drives the car It has all the common issuses Leaky cam covers , Leaky HCV ,. The car only has 65k on it . I have already tried to sway her away but ????? What do you people think ?

CateraMV6
02-19-09, 09:51 AM
i'd say get it as long as you have a back up car.... if you can hold off on buying parts from the dealer and you can get parts off ebay and do the repairs yourself you will be ok...

As soon as you have to go to the dealer and get stuff from there you will begin to hate it...

Put it this way, I am a no mechanic and I changed my thermostat by myself with some simple hand tools that I picked up from autozone... and a few different pairs of pliers... and it took me 4hrs or so from start to finish... not that hard...

Do your research ask questions as how to fix it and you will be fine... not all of them are that bad... people hate them because they get $1000+ bills at the repair shops for something simple and then they get a bad name...

Sorry but my Neon had way more issues then my Catera ever did... and at least we know what goes bad with these cateras...

If you like look on ebay for some newer ones... 2000+ were pretty safe bet when it comes to troubles...

AHazzardToAll
02-19-09, 01:11 PM