: Looking at 2000 with 150000 miles

wifescaddy
12-19-08, 08:07 AM
Im going to look at a 2000 escalade with 150000 miles on it,very clean just higher miles.Ill see how it runs today,he said it runs great.Im a mechanic anyway so ill know.Now i have an extra gm zz4 crate motor with 15000 miles on it that i can always throw in it and i can tune my own pcm too.But im worried about the trans,and rear.I guess my main question is how are the older escalades with higher mileage reliable.
Most likely ill be letting my wife drive the escalade to work only 2 miles away and ill drive her srx to work(70 miles round trip)so mileage isnt a great concern.

ESCALADOR
12-19-08, 08:51 AM
Depending on the price, I would look for something newer with lower miles. There are some good deals on newer model Lades out there now!

shore
12-19-08, 09:33 AM
I had to trade my 99 Denali to get rid of it.It had all the right stuff and was unreal clean.It also had 132k on it.While it ran good it was down on power.I never had a issue with the tranny "yet".I did have the slipping yoke syndrom but just delt with it.The AC crapped out 2 or 3 times and it was expensive to fix.The rear AC line that goes under the passeneger footwell is a GM issue spot.It rubs the frame and leaks.Not cheap.The intake gaskets are a 100% failure on these.

That being said she never left me anywhere in 5yrs.I coudn't get $6k out of it 6mths ago.They are about worthless now.I'd say if you are paying more than $3k for it it is too much.

wifescaddy
12-19-08, 11:21 AM
alright ,power wise thats why i was gone to put the zz4 motor in it to get it back up.And its not costing me anything really cause itll be even trade.Ill have to think about it some more now.I have a 2001 yukon to go look at also,might go for that instead.at least thats got a 5.3 and i have an extra motor for that too,lol.

shore
12-19-08, 01:11 PM
I would certainly step-up to the NBS Yukon over the OBS Escalade.Mucho difference.

obxdiver
12-19-08, 03:14 PM