: Save the drone, save the world

Pages : [1] 2

thoredan
12-10-08, 12:47 AM
I took delivery of 09 CTS-V, They made it way too loud for someone comeing out of XLR-V, going to call dealer tommorow and see if anyone else has complained about all the noise it makes at normal driving speeds, beacuse of this so far not nearly as happy as I thought I would be, Coming out of XLR-V engine and exhaust were quieter, The CTS-V supercharger wines (ok kind of like that sound) but in normal driving 1500 to 2500 rpm the exhaust is just too loud for me, 6th gear around 35 45 mph under load. WOT Ok and expect loud, but normal driving to maintain speed up hill with out downshifting is when it makes this “droneing” sound Dos anyone have any experience with after market exhaust that will retain the free flowing exhaust and make it quieter for daily driving. I have zero experience with after market exhaust; do any of them help with this annoying “DRONE” sound? And keep it muffled? Besides that the rest of the car is nice, Still hate the 6th speed it has the same annoying hunting for the right gear all the time just like XLR-V did. Thanks!

thoredan
12-10-08, 01:05 AM
OLD XLR-V New Jeep, Srt8 Makes less noise with the 6.1 Hemi

Knuguy
12-10-08, 01:19 AM
I'll be the first to say, you poor thing you.... :))

As for the answer, a banana in the tailpipe might do the trick

gotapex
12-10-08, 01:38 AM
Dynatech Vortex Insert Cones may be an easy, reversable bolt-in solution to try before doing anything drastic.

http://www.jegs.com/p/Dynatech/750014/10002/-1

tblack
12-10-08, 02:35 AM
I'll be the first to say, you poor thing you.... :))

Ha ha. I was waiting for someone to say that....

I would check with the dealer, all the reviews say the exhaust is pretty subdued so I ssume there could be some contact causing vibration which creates a droning sound. I had that issue with my 07 V.

Ps. Nice garage!

V-Love
12-10-08, 05:07 AM