: Just got Headgaskets done. Still yellow liquid.

davz
11-26-08, 10:56 PM
I JUST finished replacing the Headgaskets on my 97 Northstar. To my severe dissapointment, when I ran the car, it still got hot and I tested the cooling system with the blue liqiud. It immediately turned yellow.

I am a pretty good mechanic and did everything according to the FSM. I used Norm's inserts and Fel-Pro gaskets, new bolts, everything.

I looked at the heads and block and didn't see anything bad.

What is it now? Cracked head or block????

davz
11-26-08, 11:49 PM
I was doing some reading on the forum here and realized I may have made a major blunder.

In the Manual, on the Cylinder head installation part it tells you to go 22 ft/lbs then 60 deg and then 60 deg. That's what I did.

Reading on the forum here and in a different part of the manual, I see there is 22 ft/lbs, then 3 60 deg steps.

Can I take the cam covers off and retorque them?? Is it possible thats why mine didn't seal? I'm just devastated by the fact that my repair did not work, and am hoping for some answers.

HELP!!

97EldoCoupe
11-27-08, 01:00 AM
You can try removing the cam covers and retorquing, even give it a little more than the FSM recommends. You can't lose at this point, it's worth a shot. Did you check the heads for warpage? Also, you may have missed a hairline crack in the cylinder wall. I've seen 3 Northstars with this so far, all in the rear bank (Right bank). But usually if there's a cracked cylinder, it will blow white smoke- is it doing that? If it's not blowing white smoke, I'd try changing the thermostat and checking the purge line for blockage. The heads should seal....

If all else fails, I'm about four hours from you in Southern Ontario Canada. Bring your engine to me and I'll fix 'er up. I also have a '97 engine ready to go, HG's already done. Can be heard running because i installed it back into the '97, changed my mind about fixing the car up. All I have to do is pull it back out.

zonie77