: New Eldo Owner: Speed Limiter Question

Warmarshall2nd
11-24-08, 12:55 AM
Well, I just got my first Cadillac- a '99 El Dorado. After driving for about 2 months, I've got it up to 70k mi.

Recently, I've started looking into getting more power out of the engine. I just built a cold air intake, which has given me great results. Now my concern, as I'm sure many other young drivers with a want for more speed, is how to overcome the speed limiter. I don't really have the money to have the PCM reprogrammed.

Is there any way to simply disable the limiter without totally pulling apart the engine, or am I going to have to be satisfied with a top speed of 110?

Sorry for asking such a naive question. Like I said, I'm new to this.

Thanks!

AJxtcman
11-24-08, 02:52 AM
I can do just the speed limiter.

97EldoCoupe
11-24-08, 08:22 AM
I thought the limiter was 112 MPH?! Anyways, AJ I still need you to do mine one day too and set it to the L37 /3.71:1 tune. I don't want to know your secrets but does it look promising reprogramming the whole PCM too, like setting timing and fuel trim, etc? I know if anyone can do it, you're the man.

Submariner409
11-24-08, 09:56 AM
Warmarshall, Take a look at the stickers on the driver's door jamb. The letter after the stock tire size listing is the speed rating of those tires and therefore the setting of the limiter (which is an electronic function of the PCM, nothing else). S = 112, H = 130, and W/Z = 150+. Take a look at the sticker on the underside of the spare tire cover. All those codes are RPO (Regular Production Option) codes and give you what's in your car. There's a sticky at the top of one of these forums which leads you to the RPO code list link. (Look at the top of Cadillac Technical Tips)