: Back up Camera Help

mbovinet
11-15-08, 01:41 AM
We just bought a 2006 Escalade ESV Platinum today. We looked at a 05 a few days back that had a back up camera linked up to view out the factory nav screen.

Does anyone know what all I'll need in order to do the same on ours?

Thanks in advance

Mike

mbovinet
11-16-08, 06:46 PM
Somebody's gotta know :banghead:

technobill
11-16-08, 09:04 PM
Greetings,

I've no experience with this application, but have been installing my own car stereos since Pioneer SuperTuners were top shelf. That may or may not give you a frame of reference depending on your age.

If you are looking for substantive input, rather than anonymous experts full of advice until presented with a specific complication :bomb: I highly recommend Crutchfield. You can browse their inventory online to get an idea of your options, there are many, and then call them to get started determining a path best suited to your needs.

Below is a link to one random complete system.
http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?g=277650&i=707VTC433R&search=Backup+Camera&tp=83

Below is a link to search results of their site for backup cameras.
http://www.crutchfield.com/g_277650/Rear-view-Cameras.html?search=Backup+Camera&tp=83

When the install hits a snag, you call them, they help you. Lifetime support is included with all their products. :yup:

Lu Scola
11-16-08, 10:52 PM
Im not sure if the 05- or 06 had a back up camera functional with the nav system from the factory.

If not here are your options

#1 You will have to get a Nav-TV converter box

You will have to buy a back up cam. (Boyo makes decent ones)

The nav tv will allow you to view dvd and back up camera on the factory nav unit.

If you need more details let me know.

mbovinet
11-17-08, 12:06 AM
Im not sure if the 05- or 06 had a back up camera functional with the nav system from the factory.

If not here are your options

#1 You will have to get a Nav-TV converter box