: My Northstar HG project

pimpdaddycaddy91
10-18-08, 11:58 PM
Well after my '99 ETC has been sitting for over a year and I have been saving up money I finally decided not to spend $3000+ for a shop to do the work and got the courage to work on it myself. I myself am mechanically inclined, I have built Chevy small blocks, big blocks, and old VW engines, as well as doing almost any repair on mostly GM cars old and new but the Northstar just seemed too daunting as I am not a professionanl mechanic and dont have great tools. But I dived in anyway.

I have been taking my time I spent 2 hours wednesday and 2 hours friday and almost 6 hours today but I got the whole subframe/engine/trans out. I ran into some problems and got lost a few times, cursed at it constantly, and my hands are all banged up, but I got through it. I will try to post some pictures soon. Now comes the next daunting task of tearing the engine down and repairing the headbolts.

I certainly couldnt have done it with out the help of this forum and also the factory service manual. Thank you everyone who have posted usefull info on the HG repair. I will keep you posted on my progress but it may be slow as I dont have much time to work on it and I also dont even have a kit yet to do the headbolts but hopefully in a months time I can get her done and it will be a nice birthday present for me.

CadillacSTS42005
10-19-08, 12:38 AM
best of luck to ya
i did an 01 Deville DTS and its my only HG repair job yet THANK GOD lol

mythy
10-19-08, 04:04 AM
^ I see you too are in PA :sneaky: and you can do head gaskets oh joy!!!

CadillacSTS42005
10-19-08, 11:35 AM
i did it on a DTS at the shop i work at
when the HG went on my 97 ETC i had the dealer do it lol
much less room to work around in there haha
not to mention they did the job for 2k instead of the normal 4-5k as they had replaced the motor previously for me under warranty

jeffrsmith
10-19-08, 06:31 PM